Candle Color Energies

Here is a brief  list of common candle colors and their uses. This page can also be found in the Book of Shadows section of this website.


Gold is often used to represent The Male God on traditional alters. As such gold can be used to represent masculine energy in rituals and spells.

Gold is bright and shining like the sun. I can be used in spells to promote happiness and joy. Prosperity and growth.

Gold is lucky, as in finding the gold at the end of a rainbow. It can be used in spells relating to gambling and betting, and to promote favorable outcomes when taking business and financial risks.


Silver is often used to represent The Female Goddess on traditional alters. As such gold can be used to represent feminine energy in rituals and spells.

Silver is radiant and reflective like the moon. As such it can be used in spells of clairvoyance and intuition.

Silver is the color given off by the stars at night. It shines sacred light on astral energies and dream work.


Black absorbs negative energy.  It can be used in binding spells and to protect against jealousy, ill will, and other forms of psychic vampire-ism.

Black is sacred, spiritual. It promotes rest, recuperation, and spiritual healing.

Black is and mysterious. It teaches us the secrets of the universe. It is used in ceremonies that mark rites of passage, as well as those that mark the ending of a phase.


White is the purest of shades. White candles can be use in spells that focus on the Higher Self.

White is peaceful and virgin. It lends to spells that call for calm, tranquility, and peace.

White candles can also be a blank canvas. They can be used in place of other candle colors when given the intent.


Purple is the color of the color of the Crown Chakra, or Third Eye. It evokes intuition, extrasensory perception, and inner wisdom, .

Purple connects us to limitless universal hidden knowledge and can be used in spells that call upon psychic ability, spiritual power, and to influence people in high places.


Blue is the color of the throat chakra. It is the color of self expression and communication. Blue can be used to open blocked communication, encourage expressions of truth, and to promote creative expression.

Blue symbolizes the element of Water. Water represents the subconscious. It can be used in rituals of purification and for spiritual inspiration.


Green is the color of the heart chakra. It is connected with love and compassion. Green can be used to promote growth in an individual, as well as physical healing.

Green symbolizes the element of Earth. Earth represents strength, stability, and prosperity. It is used in spells to gain monetary success and to achieve personal goals.

Green represents Mother Earth and is essential to garden, tree, and plant magic.


Yellow is the color of the solar plexus chakra (third chakra); it symbolizes mental activities, intellect, personal power, will. Use yellow to accelerate learning, promote memory retention, and to break mental blocks.

Yellow symbolizes the element of Air. Air represents the mind and intelligence. It is used to strengthen communication, telepathy, and psychic powers. It can also be used to encourage inspiration, logical imagination, and new ideas or inventions.


Orange is the color of the sacral chakra. It is associated with creativity and sexuality. Use orange for sex magick, bringing joy, and to bolster courage, self-esteem, and independence.

Orange prosperous and warm. It represents general success in endeavors related to property deals, legal matters, justice, and buying and selling. Use orange to attract good things in your life and in the lives of those around you.


Red the color of the root chakra. It symbolizes survival, grounding, and primal energy. It is a driving force and can be used to promote action, reach goals, and attain power in society and career.

Red symbolizes the element of Fire. Fire represents inspiration, passionate love or lust, and leadership through strength or force.

Red is also has sacred power in matters of feminine health, reproductive wellness, and menstruation.


Pink is the color of affection and romance. It can be used in spells for romantic love, devotion, and compassion. It can also be used to encourage forgiveness or to strengthen friendships.

Pink is caring and nurturing. It can be used in spells of joy, harmony, emotional and spiritual healing, good will, and self-love.


Brown is the color of fertile ground. It brings stability and balance to home and hearth. It can also be used to bring blessings to gardens, orchards, or to commune with pets, livestock, and wildlife.

Brown is warming and welcoming. It lends to friendships and trust. Use brown candles to encourage special favors, foster loyalty, and stabilize the foundations of a friendship.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s